Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 12/12/2007 4:15:47 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name GILMORE
State New South Wales
Elected Member Gash, J (LP) 1996-
Name Derivation Named after Dame Mary Gilmore 1865-1962, a well known poet, author and journalist.
First Proclaimed / Election 1984
Area 5528 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 87,489
Turnout 95.94%
Informal 4.21%
Location Gilmore covers an area of approximately 5 529 sq km along the coast from Kiama in the north to Tomakin in the south, then west including much of the Monga, Budawang and Morton National Parks. Towns include Batehaven, Batemans Bay, Berry, Bomaderry, Gerringong, Kangaroo Valley, Kiama, Milton, Mogo, Nelligen, Nowra, Sussex Inlet and Ulladulla.
Products and Industry Tourism, timber, dairy and beef cattle, paper mill, brickworks, light engineering, dairy products, steel fabrication and fishing.

Gash, J (LP) 1996-
Knott, P J (ALP) 1993-1996
Sharp, J R (NP) 1984-1993

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top