Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:09 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name EDEN-MONARO
State New South Wales
Elected Member Nairn, G (LP) 1996-
Name Derivation Named after the area in which it is located.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 30946 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 92,532
Turnout 95.28%
Informal 4.57%
Location Eden-Monaro covers an area of approximately 30 946 sq km from Queanbeyan to South Durras in the north, south to the Victorian border, inland to the Great Dividing Range encompassing the border of the Australian Capital Territory. The main towns include Adaminaby, Batemans Bay, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Moruya, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Sutton and Tathra.
Products and Industry The area around Bega produces vegetables, maize, butter, cheese and also contains fish canneries, timbermills and brickworks. The division also produces beans, dairy cattle, potatoes, wool and contains sawmills, wood-pulping factories and a eucalyptus distillery. The Snowy Mountains hydroelectric scheme and the tourist areas around Jindabyne are in this division.

NAIRN, G (LP) 1996-
SNOW, J H J (ALP) 1983-1996
SAINSBURY, M E (LP) 1975-1983
WHAN, R B (ALP) 1972-1975
FRASER, A D (ALP) 1969-1972
MUNRO, D R (LP) 1966-1969
FRASER, A D (ALP) 1943-1966
PERKINS, J A (UAP) 1931-1943
CUSACK, J J (ALP) 1929-1931
PERKINS, J A (NAT) 1926-1929

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top