Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:09 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name FARRER
State New South Wales
Elected Member Ley, S (LP) 2001-
Name Derivation Named after William Farrer 1845-1906, a noted wheat breeder and experimentalist.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 96844 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 85,712
Turnout 95.16%
Informal 6.70%
Location Farrer covers some 15 Shires, approximately 96 844 sq km in southern NSW and shares boundaries with the New South Wales divisions of Riverina and Parkes in the north and Hume and Eden-Monaro in the east. Farrer stretches along the Murray River from Mount Kosciuszko in the east to the South Australian border in the west. The largest city is Albury. Other major towns include Batlow, Deniliquin, Corowa, Finley and Tumut.
Products and Industry Large scale irrigation areas, such as around Deniliquin and Wentworth, produce dairy products, fat sheep and cattle, orchard and vine crops, apples and rice. Other major agricultural products include wool, timber, wheat and cereals. Many industries are based on the processing of agricultural products, such as the Australian Newsprint Mills at Albury and the largest rice mill in the southern hemisphere at Deniliquin. Other industries include the preparation of dairy goods, juices and wines, and Tumut contains a portion of the Snowy Mountain hydro-electric scheme.

LEY, S (LP) 2001-
FISCHER, T (NP) 1984-2001
FIFE, W C (LP) 1975-1984
FAIRBAIRN, D E (LP) 1949-1975

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top