Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:09 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name FOWLER
State New South Wales
Elected Member Irwin, J (ALP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after Lilian Fowler 1887-1954, first woman alderman in New South Wales 1929-48 and first woman mayor in Australia 1938-39, Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1944-50.
First Proclaimed / Election 1984
Area 47 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 82,885
Turnout 93.34%
Informal 9.11%
Location Fowler covers an area of approximately 47sq km and extends from Georges River (Hume Highway) in the east, south to the M5 Freeway, into Liverpool Street, to Hoxton Park Road, west to Cartwright Avenue, then north along Banks Road to North Liverpool Road. The boundary continues west along North Liverpool Road to Cowpasture Road and then follows Cowpasture Road, north until Edensor Park Road where it goes east to Smithfield Road. The boundary continues north east along Smithfield Road then continues south east along Canley Vale Rd, then Northeast along Humphries Road, until Orphan School Creek which it follows to Prospect Creek. From Prospect Creek to Fairfield Street until Woodville Road, where it follows Woodville Road south until it comes to the Hume Highway. The boundary then follows the Hume Highway west until it crosses the Georges River. The main suburbs include Ashcroft, Bonnyrigg, Bonnyrigg Heights, Busby, Cabramatta, Cabramatta West, Canley Heights, Canley Vale, Carramar, Cartwright, Edensor Park, Fairfield East, Green Valley, Heckenberg, Lansvale, Liverpool, Mt Pritchard, Sadlier, St Johns Park, Villawood, Wakeley and Warwick Farm.
Products and Industry The main industries are small business regional growth centre government departments and light manufacturing.

IRWIN, J (ALP) 1998-
GRACE, T (ALP) 1984-1998

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top