Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name HUGHES
State New South Wales
Elected Member Vale, D (LP) 1996-
Name Derivation Named after William Hughes 1862-1952, Prime Minister of Australia 1915-23.
First Proclaimed / Election 1955
Area 265 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 87,281
Turnout 95.45%
Informal 5.07%
Location Hughes covers an area of approximately 265 sq km from the Georges River in the north and west, through to the Royal National Park at Waterfall in the south and Sutherland, Jannali and Oyster Bay in the east. The main suburbs include Alfords Point, Bangor, Barden Ridge, Bonnet Bay, Chipping Norton, Como, Engadine, Hammondville, Heathcote, Holsworthy, Illawong, Jannali, Lucas Heights, Menai, Moorebank, Oyster Bay, Sutherland, Waterfall, Wattle Grove and Woronora Heights.
Products and Industry Atomic reactor, light manufacturing industries, army base at Holsworthy.

VALE, D (LP) 1996-
TICKNER, R E (ALP) 1984-1996
JOHNSON, L R (ALP) 1969-1983
DOBIE, J D (LP) 1966-1969
JOHNSON, L R (ALP) 1955-1966

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top