Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name HUNTER
State New South Wales
Elected Member Fitzgibbon, J (ALP) 1996-
Name Derivation Named after John Hunter 1737-1821, second Governor of New South Wales 1795-99.
First Proclaimed / Election 1901
Area 10593 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 88,996
Turnout 95.67%
Informal 5.30%
Location Hunter covers an area of approximately 10 593 sq km from Maitland in the east to Denman in the west, Muswellbrook in the north and south to Wollombi. The main towns include Branxton, Cessnock, Denman, Kurri Kurri, Maitland, Muswellbrook, and Singleton.
Products and Industry Aluminium smelting, coal-mining, wine grapes, dairying, timber, clothing manufacture, wheat, wool, lambs, beef and dairy cattle, pigs, oats, hay, lucerne, fruit, vegetables, hardwood, timber milling, engineering works and stud farms. Liddell Power Station and Bays Water Power Station are also in the division.

FITZGIBBON, E J (ALP) 1984-1996
BROWN, R J (ALP) 1980-1984
JAMES, A W (ALP) 1960-1980
EVATT, H V (ALP) 1958-1960
JAMES, R (ALP) 1928-1958
CHARLTON, M (ALP) 1910-1928
LIDDELL, F (FT/ANTI-SOC) 1903-1910
BARTON, E (PROT) 1901-1903

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top