Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name MACARTHUR
State New South Wales
Elected Member Farmer, P (LP) 2001-
Name Derivation Named after Captain John Macarthur 1767-1834, an early settler in New South Wales and founder of the Australian merino wool industry.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 573 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 84,285
Turnout 95.15%
Informal 7.37%
Location Macarthur covers an area of approximately 573 sq km stretching from east of the Nepean River to Luddenham, Badgerys Creek and Leppington in the north, to the south through Cobbity and Cawdor, along the Camden and Campbelltown sides of Woodbridge Road and Onslow Creek at Menangle and east to Gilead, Wedderburn, Kentlyn, Leumeahh and Kearns. Macarthur shares common boundaries with the Division of Lindsay in the north, Werriwa, Hughes and Cunningham in the east, and Hume in the south. The main towns include Bringelly, Camden, Campbelltown, Cobbitty, Harrington Park, Mount Annan, Narellan, St Helens Park, Wedderburn and Woodbine.
Products and Industry The area contains residential, commercial, small business and light industrial activities. The area also produces fruit, vegetables, fodder crops, wine and is a centre for horse-breeding/ agistment and tourism. Oran Park Raceway, the Macarthur Campus of the University of Western Sydney, the University of Sydney farms and the Mount Annan Botanic Gardens are also located here.

FARMER, P (LP) 2001-
FAHEY, J (LP) 1996-2001
HAVILAND, C D (ALP) 1993-1996
MARTIN, S P (ALP) 1984-1993
HOLLIS, C (ALP) 1983-1984
BAUME, M E (LP) 1975-1983
KERIN, J C (ALP) 1972-1975
BATE, H J (LP) 1949-1972

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top