Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name NORTH SYDNEY
State New South Wales
Elected Member Hockey, J (LP) 1996-
Name Derivation Named after the area in which it is located.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 39 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 89,083
Turnout 93.43%
Informal 3.65%
Location North Sydney covers an area of approximately 39 sq km from Sydney Harbour in the south to North Willoughby in the north and from Middle Harbour in the east to Parramatta River at Hunters Hill in the west. The main suburbs include Artarmon, Cammeray, Castlecrag, Cremorne, Cremorne Point, Crows Nest, Gore Hill, Gladesville, Greenwich, Henley, Hunters Hill, Huntleys Point, Kirribilli, Lane Cove, Lane Cove West, Lavender Bay, Linley Point, Longueville, McMahons Point, Milsons Point, Naremburn, Neutral Bay, Northbridge, North Sydney, North Willoughby, Northwood, Riverview, St Leonards, Tarban, Waverton, Willoughby, Wollstonecraft, and Woolwich.
Products and Industry North Sydney is the third largest business centre in Australia. It contains communications, property and business services, and wholesale and retail industries.

HOCKEY, J (LP) 1996-
MACK, E C (IND) 1990-1996
SPENDER, J M (LP) 1980-1990
GRAHAM, B W (LP) 1966-1980
JACK, W M (LP) 1949-1966
RYRIE, G (LIB/NAT) 1911-1922
EDWARDS, G B (LIB) 1910-1911
THOMPSON, D (FT) 1901-1910

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top