Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name SYDNEY
State New South Wales
Elected Member Plibersek, T (ALP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after the city of Sydney, which was named in 1788 by Captain Arthur Phillip after Viscount Sydney, then British Home Secretary.
First Proclaimed / Election 1968/1969
Area 50 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 94,948
Turnout 91.51%
Informal 5.29%
Location Sydney covers an area of approximately 50 sq km from Port Jackson (Sydney Harbour) in the north to Rosebery in the south to Iron Cove in the west. Lord Howe Island is also part of the electorate. The main suburbs include Alexandria, Annandale (part), Balmain, Beaconsfield, Birchgrove, Broadway, Camperdown (part), Chippendale, Darlinghurst, Darlington, Elizabeth Bay, Erskineville, Forest Lodge, Glebe, Haymarket, Kings Cross, Millers Point, Newtown (part), Paddington (part), Potts Point, Rozelle (part), Pyrmont, Redfern, Rosebery (part), Rushcutters Bay, Surry Hills, The Rocks, Ultimo, Waterloo, Woolloomooloo and Zetland. The harbour islands from Spectacle Island to the Heads are also included in this division.
Products and Industry Commercial, financial, retail, merchandising, service, transport, entertainment and shipping industries.

BALDWIN, P (ALP) 1983-1998
MCMAHON, J L (ALP) 1975-1983
COPE, J F (ALP) 1969-1975

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top