Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name WENTWORTH
State New South Wales
Elected Member Turnbull, M (LP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after William Charles Wentworth 1790-1872, a noted Australian explorer and statesman. He accompanied Blaxland and Lawson on their crossing of the Blue Mountains.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 26 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 84,987
Turnout 92.34%
Informal 6.18%
Location Wentworth covers an area of approximately 26 sq km from Darling Point along the southern shore of Sydney Harbour to Watson's Bay and down the coast to Clovelly. The western boundary runs along Randwick Racecourse and includes Centennial Park and Paddington. The division of Wentworth is the smallest geographical division in Australia. The main suburbs include Bellevue Hill, Bondi, Bondi Beach, Bondi Junction, Bronte, Clovelly (part), Darling Point, Dover Heights, Double Bay, Edgecliff, North Bondi, Paddington (part), Point Piper, Queens Park, Randwick (part), Rose Bay, Vaucluse, Watson's Bay, Waverley and Woollahra.
Products and Industry Finance, property, service, wholesale and retail trade, tourism, education, sport and recreation.

TURNBULL, M (LP) 2004-
KING, P (LP) 2001-2004
THOMSON, A (LP) 1995-2001
HEWSON, J (LP) 1987-1995
COLEMAN, P (LP) 1981-1987
ELLICOTT, R J (LP) 1974-1981
BURY, L H E (LP) 1956-1974
HARRISON, E J (UAP/LP) 1931-1956
MARKS, W M (NP) 1919-1931
MCMILLAN, W (FT) 1901-1903

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top