Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name BRISBANE
State Queensland
Elected Member Bevis, A (ALP) 1990-
Name Derivation Named after the city of Brisbane which was named after Sir Thomas MacDougall Brisbane 1773-1860, Governor of New South Wales 1820-25.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 77 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 89,629
Turnout 92.40%
Informal 4.22%
Location Brisbane covers an area of approximately 77 sq km from Everton Park and Stafford in the north to the Brisbane River in the east and south and to Ferny Grove and Upper Kedron in the west. The main suburbs include Alderley, Ashgrove, Bardon, Bowen Hills, Brisbane City, Enoggera, Ferny Grove, Fortitude Valley, Grange, Kelvin Grove, Keperra, Milton, Mitchelton, New Farm, Newmarket, Newstead, Paddington, Red Hill, Spring Hill, Stafford, Upper Kedron, Wilston and Windsor.
Products and Industry The area is mostly residential but contains some light industry. It includes the Queensland Parliament House and Brisbane City Council Chambers. The Enoggera Military Camp and many Commonwealth Government, State Government and business administrative offices are found in the area.

BEVIS, A (ALP) 1990-
CROSS, M D (ALP) 1980-1990
JOHNSON, P F (LP) 1975-1980
CROSS, M D (ALP) 1961-1975
LAWSON, G (ALP) 1931-1961
CAMERON, D C (NAT) 1919-1931
FINLAYSON, W F (ALP) 1910-1919
FOXTON, J F G (ANTI-SOC) 1906-1910
CULPIN, M (ALP) 1903-1906

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top