Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name HERBERT
State Queensland
Elected Member Lindsay, P (LP) 1996-
Name Derivation Named after Sir Robert Herbert 1831-1905, the first Premier of Queensland 1860-66.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 1997 sq. kms
Demographic Provincial
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 87,987
Turnout 93.82%
Informal 5.53%
Location Herbert covers an area of approximately 1 997 sq km around the City of Townsville and also includes Magnetic Island and Palm Islands. Townsville (including Thuringowa City) is the main city in the area.
Products and Industry Copper, nickel and zinc refineries, bulk sugar terminal, and tropical fruits, prawn and fishing industry, beef cattle and tourism. Townsville, noted for its port facilities, is also home to James Cook University, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and large defence establishments at Lavarack Barracks (Army) and Garbutt (RAAF).

LINDSAY, P (LP) 1996-
LINDSAY, E J (ALP) 1983-1996
DEAN, A G (LP) 1977-1983
BONNETT, R N (LP) 1966-1977
HARDING, E W (ALP) 1961-1966
MURRAY, J (LP) 1958-1961
EDMONDS, W F (ALP) 1946-1958
MARTENS, G W (ALP/FLP) 1928-1946
NOTT, L W (NAT) 1925-1928
BAMFORD, F W (ALP/NAT) 1901-1925

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top