Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name WAKEFIELD
State South Australia
Elected Member Fawcett, D (LP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after Edward Gibbon Wakefield 1796-1862, whose theories of colonisation had a great impact on the formation of settlements in Western Australia and South Australia.
First Proclaimed / Election 1903
Area 6155 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 90,756
Turnout 94.98%
Informal 6.48%
Location Wakefield covers an area of approximately 6 155 sq km from Salisbury in the northern suburbs of Adelaide to Clare in the Clare Valley, 135 km north of Adelaide. The main suburbs include Elizabeth, Salisbury, Craigmore and Munno Para. The towns of Virginia, Gawler, Port Wakefield, Balaklava, Clare, Kapunda, Riverton, Mallala, Freeling and Tarlee are also included in this division.
Products and Industry The main industries hosted by the northern suburbs of Adelaide include clothing, defence, the Edinburgh RAAF Base, automotive and automotive component manufacturing. General Motors Holden are the major employer of the area and produce Holden cars for Australia and many overseas markets. The rural and agricultural industries include cereal crops, sheep, cattle, market gardens and viticulture (including the renowned Clare Valley wine region). McLeod's Daughters is filmed in and around the towns of Gawler and Freeling.

FAWCETT, D (LP) 2004-
ANDREW, N (LP) 1983-2004
GILES, G (LP) 1977-1983
KELLY, C R (LP) 1958-1977
MCBRIDE, P A M (LP) 1946-1958
SMITH, A E (ALP) 1943-1946
DUNCAN-HUGHES, J G (UAP) 1940-1943
MCHUGH, S (ALP) 1938-1940
HAWKER, C A S (NAT/UAP) 1929-1938
COLLINS, M (CP) 1928-1929

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top