Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name BRADDON
State Tasmania
Elected Member Baker, M (LP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after Sir Edward Braddon 1829-1904, Premier of Tasmania 1894-99, and a Member of the House of Representatives 1901-04.
First Proclaimed / Election 1955 (This division was previously Darwin, which was proclaimed in 1903. Its name was changed in 1955.)
Area 11760 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 69,988
Turnout 96.04%
Informal 3.61%
Location Braddon is a rural electorate covering approximately 11 760 sq km in North West Tasmania. It includes King Island. The cities of Burnie and Devonport are in the Division of Braddon. Other towns include Currie, Latrobe, Penguin, Port Sorell, Smithton, Somerset, Stanley, Ulverstone, Waratah and Wynyard.
Products and Industry Forestry, fishing, kelp harvesting, dairying, beef cattle production and vegetable, poppy and pyrethrum growing are major primary industries. Vegetable processing, cheese manufacture and sawmilling complement these activities. An iron ore mine is located at Savage River. Manufacturing industry includes paper mills at Burnie and Wesley Vale, mining equipment at Burnie and weaving mills at Devonport. A number of telecommunications call centres are located in the Division. Burnie and Devonport are major ports, and interstate airports are located at Devonport and Wynyard. A daily passenger ferry service operates between Devonport and Port Melbourne.

BAKER, M (LP) 2004-
SIDEBOTTOM, S (ALP) 1998-2004
MILES, C (LP) 1984-1998
GROOM, R J (LP) 1975-1984
DAVIES, R (ALP) 1958-1975
LUCK, A W G (LP) 1955-1958

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top