Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:11 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name FRANKLIN
State Tasmania
Elected Member Quick, H (ALP) 1993-
Name Derivation Named after Sir John Franklin 1786-1847, Lieutenant-Governor of Tasmania 1837-43.
First Proclaimed / Election 1903
Area 7933 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 69,794
Turnout 95.65%
Informal 3.40%
Location Franklin covers an area of approximately 7 933 sq km from Bridgewater in the north to Port Davey in the south and Seven Mile Beach in the east. The City of Clarence is in the division. Other major towns include Blackmans Bay, Bridgewater, Cygnet, Dover, Franklin, Geeveston, Huonville, Kingston, Margate and Snug as well as Bruny Island.
Products and Industry Apples, pears, small fruits, fishing, beef cattle, sheep, forestry, cottage industry and tourism.

QUICK, H (ALP) 1993-
GOODLUCK, B J (LP) 1975-1993
SHERRY, R H (ALP) 1969-1975
PEARSALL, T G (LP) 1966-1969
FALKINDER, C W J (LP) 1946-1966
FROST, C W (FLP/ALP) 1934-1946
BLACKLOW, A C (UAP) 1931-1934
FROST, C W (ALP) 1929-1931
MCWILLIAMS, W J (IND) 1928-1929
SEABROOK, A C (NAT) 1922-1928

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top