Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:11 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name LYONS
State Tasmania
Elected Member Adams, D (ALP) 1993-
Name Derivation Named after Joseph Lyons 1879-1939, and Dame Enid Lyons 1897-1981
First Proclaimed / Election 1984 (This division was previously Wilmot, which was proclaimed in 1903. Its name was changed in 1984.)
Area 40604 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 65,940
Turnout 95.66%
Informal 3.95%
Location Lyons, covers an area of approximately 40 604 sq km is the largest division in Tasmania covering most of the State from the west to the east coasts and from Beaconsfield township in the north to New Norfolk and the Tasman Peninsula region in the south. The main towns include Beaconsfield, Brighton, Campbell Town, Deloraine, Dodges Ferry, Evandale, Exeter, Hadspen, Longford, Midway Point, New Norfolk, Perth, Queenstown, Richmond, St Helens, Sheffield, Sorell and Westbury.
Products and Industry Fishing, forestry, wool, cattle (dairy and beef), fruit, wine, hydro-power generation, mining and tourism.

ADAMS, D (ALP) 1993-
BURR, M A (LP) 1984-1993

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top