Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:11 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name GIPPSLAND
State Victoria
Elected Member McGauran, P (NP) 1983-
Name Derivation Named after the area which was explored by Angus McMillan in 1839. It was named after Governor Sir George Gipps.
First Proclaimed / Election 1901
Area 33264 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 93,062
Turnout 95.63%
Informal 4.23%
Location Gippsland covers an area of approximately 33 264 sq km from the New South Wales border in the north-east to Port Albert in the south-west. The main towns include Bairnsdale, Churchill, Heyfield, Lakes Entrance, Maffra, Morwell, Stratford, Traralgon, Yarram, Orbost, Rosedale and Sale.
Products and Industry Dairying, beef, fishing, forestry, sheep, cropping, sawmills, vegetables, oil, gas, tourism and correctional services, RAAF Base (East Sale).

MCGAURAN, P (NP) 1983-
NIXON, P J (CP/NCP/NP) 1961-1983
BOWDEN, G J (CP) 1943-1961
PATERSON, T (CP/LCP) 1922-1943
WISE, G H (PROT/NAT) 1914-1922
BENNETT, J (LIB) 1913-1914
WISE, G H (PROT) 1906-1913
MCLEAN, A (PROT) 1901-1906

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top