Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:21:52 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name SWAN
State Western Australia
Elected Member Wilkie, K (ALP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after the Swan River which was discovered and named by the Dutch explorer, Willem de Vlamingh in 1697, after the famous black swans of the area.
First Proclaimed / Election 1901
Area 108 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 79,549
Turnout 92.18%
Informal 5.46%
Location Swan covers an area of approximately 108 sq km bordered by the Swan River in the north and west, the Canning River in the south and the Midland to Kwinana freight rail line in the east. The main suburbs include Ascot, Beckenham, Belmont, Bentley, Burswood, Cannington, Carlisle, Cloverdale, Como, East Cannington, East Victoria Park, Karawara, Kensington, Kewdale, Lathlain, Manning, Queens Park, Redcliffe, Rivervale, Salter Point, St James, South Perth, Victoria Park, Waterford, Welshpool and Wilson.
Products and Industry Light industry, railway marshalling yards, commercial and retail trade. Perth international and domestic airport terminals are also located in the division.

WILKIE, K (ALP) 1998-
RANDALL, D (LP) 1996-1998
BEAZLEY, K C (ALP) 1980-1996
MARTYR, J R (LP) 1975-1980
BENNETT, A F (ALP) 1969-1975
CLEAVER, R (LP) 1955-1969
WEBB, C H (ALP) 1954-1955
GRAYDEN, W L (LP) 1949-1954
HAMILTON, L W (CP) 1946-1949
MOUNTJOY, D A (ALP) 1943-1946
MARWICK, T W (CP) 1940-1943
GREGORY, H (CP) 1922-1940
PROWSE, J H (CP) 1919-1922
CORBY, E W (ALP) 1918-1919

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top