Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:21:52 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name BLAIR
State Queensland
Elected Member Thompson, C (LP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after Harold Blair AO 1924-76. A noted Australian tenor and Aboriginal activist.
First Proclaimed / Election 1997/1998
Area 14860 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 91,529
Turnout 94.83%
Informal 5.78%
Location Blair covers an area of approximately 14 860 sq km to the west of Brisbane from Ipswich through the Lockyer Valley to the foot of the Great Dividing Range near Toowoomba, and north to the Kingaroy area through the Brisbane Valley and South Burnett. The main towns are Crows Nest, Esk, Gatton, Ipswich City (northern and western parts), Kingaroy, Kilcoy, Laidley, Nanango, Toogoolawah and Yarraman.
Products and Industry Located in the division are the Wivenhoe and Somerset dams which provide most of the water supply to the Brisbane area, and the Tarong power station located between Nanango and Kingaroy. Kingaroy is also the peanut capital of Australia. Other primary production includes bean and grain crops, vegetables, lucerne, sunflower and deer farming, as well as open-cut coal mining. A campus of the University of Queensland is situated near Gatton.

THOMPSON, C (LP) 1998-

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top