Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 12/12/2007 9:20:21 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name CUNNINGHAM
State New South Wales
Elected Member Bird, S (ALP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after Allan Cunningham 1791-1839, an early Australian explorer.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 496 sq. kms
Demographic Provincial
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 91,665
Turnout 95.67%
Informal 3.96%
Location Cunningham covers an area of approximately 496 sq km from Coniston, Unanderra and Farmborough Heights in the south, to Helensburgh in the north, and is bounded generally in the west by the mountain range. The main suburbs include Austinmer, Balgownie, Bellambi, Bulli, Clifton, Coalcliff, Coledale, Coniston, Cordeaux Heights, Corrimal, Darkes Forest, Fairy Meadow, Figtree, Gwynneville, Helensburgh, Keiraville, Mangerton, Mount Keira, Mount Kembla, Mount Ousley, Mount Saint Thomas, Otford, Russell Vale, Scarborough, Stanwell Park, Tarrawanna, Thirroul, Towradgi, West Wollongong, Wollongong, Wombarra, Woonona and part of Unanderra,
Products and Industry Wollongong is the commercial centre of the Illawarra, servicing tourism, tertiary education, steel production, coal mining, brick manufacturing and textiles.

Bird, S (ALP) 2004-
Organ, M (GRN) 2002-2004
Martin, S (ALP) 1993-2002
West, S J (ALP) 1977-1993
Connor, R F X (ALP) 1963-1977
Kearney, V D (ALP) 1956-1963
Davies, W (ALP) 1949-1956

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top