Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 17/12/2007 8:11:44 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name PARKES
State New South Wales
Elected Member Coulton, M (NP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after Sir Henry Parkes 1815-96, former Premier of New South Wales and known as the 'Father of Federation'.
First Proclaimed / Election 1984 (There was previously a division with the name of Parkes which existed in the Sydney metropolitan area up until 1967.)
Area 107108 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 89,771
Turnout 95.90%
Informal 4.20%
Location Parkes covers an area of approximately 107 108 sq km from the Queensland border in the north to Kandos, Ilford and Euchareena in the south, from Warialda, Gunnedah and Olinda in the east to Dubbo, Quambone and Lightning Ridge in the west. The main towns include Baradine, Binnaway, Boggabilla, Boggabri, Collarenebri, Coonabarabran, Coonamble, Dubbo, Dunedoo, Gilgandra, Gulgong, Gunnedah, Kandos, Lightning Ridge, Mendooran, Moree, Mudgee, Mungindi, Narrabri, Walgett, Warialda, Wee Waa and Wellington.
Products and Industry Wool, beef, pork, wheat, cotton, oil seed crops, lucerne, fruit, vegetables, dairy cattle, horse, sheep and cattle studs, comprehensive agricultural support services, coal and opal mining, timber, wine growing, light engineering and construction industries

Coulton, M (NP) 2007-
Cobb, J (NP) 2001-2007
Lawler, A (NP) 1998-2001
Cobb, M (NP) 1984-1998

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top