Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 11/12/2007 11:28:52 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name PARRAMATTA
State New South Wales
Elected Member Owens, J (ALP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after the locality of Parramatta which was first settled in 1788. The name is Aboriginal for 'plenty of eels' or 'head of river'.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 63 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 96,305
Turnout 94.66%
Informal 6.56%
Location Parramatta covers an area of approximately 63 sq km from Carlingford and Dundas Valley in the east to Kings Langley, Lalor Park and Seven Hills in the west. The main suburbs include Constitution Hill, Dundas Valley, Girraween, Kings Langley, Lalor Park, North Parramatta, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta CBD, Pendle Hill, Seven Hills, Telopea, Toongabbie and parts of Baulkham Hills, Blacktown, Carlingford, Dundas, North Rocks, Northmead, Parramatta, Prospect, Wentworthville, Westmead and Winston Hills.
Products and Industry Retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, major industry and tourism.

Owens, J (ALP) 2004-
Cameron, R (LP) 1996-2004
Elliott, R P (ALP) 1990-1996
Brown, J J (ALP) 1977-1990
Ruddock, P M (LP) 1973-1977
Bowen, N H (LP) 1964-1973
Barwick, G E (LP) 1958-1964
Beale, O H (LP) 1946-1958
Stewart, F H (UAP) 1931-1946
Rowe, A E (ALP) 1929-1931
Bowden, E K (NAT) 1922-1929
Pratten, H E (NAT) 1921-1922
Cook, J (FT/ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1901-1921

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top