Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 13/12/2007 10:58:21 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name FAIRFAX
State Queensland
Elected Member Somlyay, A (LP) 1990-
Name Derivation Named after Ruth Fairfax 1878-1948, a founder of the Country Women's Association and its first Queensland president.
First Proclaimed / Election 1984
Area 1108 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 90,202
Turnout 94.25%
Informal 3.35%
Location Fairfax covers an area of approximately 1 108 sq km taking in much of the Maroochy Shire from Perigian Springs and Eumundi in the north to Sippy Downs, Ilkley and Eudlo in the south to part of the Conondale National Park to the west of Kenilworth. The main towns include Buderim, Coolum Beach, Eumundi, Kenilworth, Mapleton, Maroochydore, Montville, Nambour, Palmwoods, Tewantin, Woombye and Yandina.
Products and Industry Avocados, ginger, sugar cane, fruit juice, tropical and exotic fruits, gold, timber, tourism, construction and infrastructure industries. The University of the Sunshine Coast is located in this division.

Somlyay, A (LP) 1990-
Adermann, A E (NP) 1984-1990

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top