Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 11/12/2007 2:21:49 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name MCPHERSON
State Queensland
Elected Member May, M (LP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after the McPherson Range which forms the south western boundary of the division.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 357 sq. kms
Demographic Provincial
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 92,372
Turnout 93.49%
Informal 3.16%
Location McPherson covers an area of approximately 357 sq km from the New South Wales border in the south to Clear Island Waters and Merrimac in the north, and west to Mudgeeraba and Springbrook. It takes in the major part of the tourist strip of the Gold Coast from the New South Wales border through Coolangatta, Tugun, Currumbin, Elanora, Palm Beach, Burleigh Heads, Robina, Varsity Lakes, Merrimac and Clear Island Waters in the north. It also includes the hinterland areas of Mudgeeraba, Currumbin Valley, Tallebudgera Valley and Springbrook.
Products and Industry Tourism and associated industries and a variety of small industries.

May, M (LP) 1998-
Bradford, J (LP) 1990-1998
White, P N D (LP) 1981-1990
Robinson, E L (LP) 1972-1981
Barnes, C E (CP) 1958-1972
Fadden, A W (CP) 1949-1958

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top