Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 11/12/2007 4:29:10 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name MORETON
State Queensland
Elected Member Perrett, G (ALP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after the area in which it is located. Captain Cook named Moreton Bay in 1770 after the Earl of Morton, which was misspelt to become Moreton.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 106 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 88,268
Turnout 94.12%
Informal 3.14%
Location Moreton covers an area of approximately 106 sq km from Fairfield in the north, Graceville, Rocklea and Archerfield in the west, Eight Mile Plains and Kuraby in the east to Drewvale and Berrinba in the South. The main suburbs include Archerfield, Chelmer, Fairfield, Graceville, Karawatha, Kuraby, Macgregor, Moorooka, Nathan, Robertson, Rocklea, Runcorn, Salisbury, Stretton, Sunnybank, Sunnybank Hills, Tennyson, Yeronga and Yeerongpilly and parts of Algester, Berrinba, Calamvale, Coopers Plains, Drewvale, Eight Mile Plains, Parkinson, Sherwood and Tarragindi.
Products and Industry The area is mainly residential with some light industrial and commercial activities.

Perrett, G (ALP) 2007-
Hardgrave, G (LP) 1996-2007
Gibson, G D (ALP) 1990-1996
Cameron, D M (LP) 1983-1990
Killen, D J (LP) 1955-1983
Francis, J (NAT/UAP/LP) 1922-1955
Wienholt, A (NAT/CP) 1919-1922
Sinclair, H (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906-1919
Wilkinson, J (IND LAB/ALP) 1901-1906

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top