Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 19/12/2007 10:58:39 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name RYAN
State Queensland
Elected Member Johnson, M (LP) 2001-
Name Derivation Named after Thomas Ryan 1876-1921, Premier of Queensland 1915-19.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 415 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 90,563
Turnout 94.90%
Informal 2.14%
Location Ryan covers an area of approximately 415 sq km mainly on the south-western side of the City of Brisbane. The greater part of the division is located north of the Brisbane River with a small part extending south of the river on the western side of the Centenary Hwy. The main suburbs and localities include Bellbowrie, Brookfield, Chapel Hill, the western 'Centenary' suburbs, Indooroopilly, Karana Downs, Kenmore, St Lucia, Taringa and parts of Auchenflower, Bardon, Lake Manchester, The Gap and Toowong.
Products and Industry The area is mainly residential and acreage suburbs with some commercial and retail activities. The University of Queensland with some 26 000 students is located on the Brisbane River at St Lucia, while all of Brisbane's television transmitters are on Mount Coot-tha which dominates the landscape of the division. The suburb of Sumner is partially devoted to light industry. By way of contrast, some farming still occurs in the outlying suburbs and the division also includes a large portion of Brisbane Forest Park.

Johnson, M (LP) 2001-
Short, L (ALP) 2001-2001
Moore, J (LP) 1975-2001
Drury, E N (LP) 1949-1975

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top