Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 13/12/2007 2:47:55 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name WIDE BAY
State Queensland
Elected Member Truss, W (NP) 1990-
Name Derivation Named after the district which takes its name from the bay sighted by Captain Cook on 18 May 1770.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 12428 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 88,881
Turnout 94.48%
Informal 3.98%
Location Wide Bay covers an area of approximately 12 428 sq km from Weyba Downs and Peregian Beach in the SE; from Fraser Island in the NE; from Booubyjan in the NW to the township of Cherbourg in the SW and Bella Creek in the south. Major population centres are Maryborough, Noosa Heads and Gympie. The World Heritage listed Fraser Island (the world's largest sand island) is located in the Division.
Products and Industry Eco-tourism (Fraser Island), whale watching, historical attractions (Maryborough), natural attractions (Cooloola Coast) timber, dairying, grain, grazing, sugar, tropical fruit orchards, and railway rolling stock (including Queensland's 'tilt' trains).

Truss, W (NP) 1990-
Millar, P C (CP/NCP/NP) 1974-1990
Hansen, B P (ALP) 1961-1974
Bandidt, H N C (CP) 1958-1961
Brand, W A (CP) 1954-1958
Corser, B H (CP) 1928-1954
Corser, E B C (LIB/NAT) 1915-1928
Fisher, A (ALP) 1901-1915

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top