Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 18/12/2007 2:11:48 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name O'CONNOR
State Western Australia
Elected Member Tuckey, W (LP) 1980-
Name Derivation Named after Charles O'Connor 1843-1902, Engineer in Chief of Western Australia (appointed 1891). Designed Fremantle Harbour and the pipeline which supplies Kalgoorlie and other goldfields with water.
First Proclaimed / Election 1979/1980
Area 179047 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 84,466
Turnout 94.44%
Informal 4.64%
Location O'Connor covers an area of approximately 179 047 sq km from Geraldton in the north to Albany in the south. The main locations include the City of Albany and the City of Geraldton, and the regional centres of Carnamah, Corrigin, Dalwallinu, Denmark, Dowerin, Katanning, Kellerberrin, Kojonup, Lake Grace, Mount Barker, Mingenew, Moora, Morawa, Mukinbudin, Ravensthorpe and Wagin.
Products and Industry Grain, sheep, cattle, tree farming, fishing, and aquaculture, vineyards and winemaking, talc and mineral sands mining, farmstays and tourism.

Tuckey, W (LP) 1980-

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top