Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 13/12/2007 6:37:24 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name TANGNEY
State Western Australia
Elected Member Jensen, D (LP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after Dame Dorothy Tangney 1911-85, first woman member of the Australian Senate 1943-68.
First Proclaimed / Election 1973/1974
Area 70 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 84,312
Turnout 94.50%
Informal 2.73%
Location Tangney covers an area of approximately 70 sq km from the Swan and Canning Rivers to the north and east, with the proposed Roe Highway forming much of its southern boundary. The main suburbs include Applecross, Alfred Cove, Ardross, Attadale (part), Bateman, Booragoon, Bull Creek, Ferndale, Langford, Leeming, Lynwood, Melville, Mount Pleasant, Murdoch, Myaree, Parkwood, Riverton, Rossmoyne, Shelley, Willetton and Winthrop.
Products and Industry Some light industry in Willetton and Myaree with standard suburban housing throughout the remainder. Murdoch University is located in the south-west of the division.

Jensen, D (LP) 2004-
Williams, D (LP) 1993-2004
Shack, P D (LP) 1984-1993
Gear, G (ALP) 1983-1984
Shack, P D (LP) 1977-1983
Richardson, P A (LP/IND) 1975-1977
Dawkins, J S (ALP) 1974-1975

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top