Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 11/12/2007 3:54:42 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name CANBERRA
State Australian Capital Territory
Elected Member Ellis, A (ALP) 1998-
Name Derivation A locality name derived from an Aboriginal word which is held to mean 'meeting place'.
First Proclaimed / Election 1974 (Prior to 1974 - Australian Capital Territory.)
Area 1921 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 122,447
Turnout 96.01%
Informal 2.26%
Location Canberra covers an area of approximately 1 921 sq km including Capital Hill and adjacent suburbs, Weston Creek, Woden Valley, Stromlo, Tuggeranong, Oaks Estate, the industrial areas of Fyshwick and Hume and the remainder of the ACT to the south and west of the Murrumbidgee and Molonglo Rivers. Those Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol in the Australian Capital Territory are enrolled in the Division of Canberra.
Products and Industry Mainly residential with some light industry at Fyshwick and Hume, tourism and retail industries.

Ellis, A (ALP) 1998-
McMullan, B (ALP) 1996-1998
Smyth, B M (LP) 1995-1996
Kelly, R J (ALP) 1980-1995
Haslem, J W (LP) 1975-1980
Enderby, K E (ALP) 1974-1975

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top