Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 17/12/2007 1:01:15 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name BANKS
State New South Wales
Elected Member Melham, D (ALP) 1990-
Name Derivation Named after botanist Sir Joseph Banks 1743-1820, who accompanied Captain Cook on his voyage to Australia in 1770.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 59 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 92,720
Turnout 95.03%
Informal 6.36%
Location Banks covers an area of approximately 59 sq km bordered by the Georges River in the south and west, the Illawarra railway line, Penshurst Street, the East Hills railway line, Josephine Street and Belmore Road in the east, Rabaul Road, Marion Street and the Sydenham Bankstown railway line in the north. The main suburbs include East Hills, Lugarno, Manahan, Milperra, Padstow, Padstow Heights, Panania, Peakhurst, Peakhurst Heights, Picnic Point, Revesby Heights and parts of Bankstown, Beverly Hills, Mortdale, Narwee, Oatley, Penshurst, Punchbowl, Revesby and Riverwood.
Products and Industry Light manufacturing, commercial and service industries.

Melham, D (ALP) 1990-
Mountford, J G (ALP) 1980-1990
Martin, V J (ALP) 1969-1980
Costa, D E (ALP) 1949-1969

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top