Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 17/12/2007 9:18:07 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name BARTON
State New South Wales
Elected Member McClelland, R (ALP) 1996-
Name Derivation Named after Sir Edmund Barton 1849-1920, the first Prime Minister of Australia 1901-03.
First Proclaimed / Election 1922
Area 38 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 91,451
Turnout 94.91%
Informal 5.56%
Location Barton covers an area of approximately 38 sq km from Arncliffe and Turrella in the north to the Georges River in the south, Botany Bay in the east and generally to the Illawarra railway line in the west. The main suburbs include Allawah, Arncliffe, Banksia, Bardwell Valley, Beverley Park, Blakehurst, Brighton-Le-Sands, Carss Park, Connells Point, Dolls Point, Hurstville Grove, Hurstville South, Kogarah, Kogarah Bay, Kyeemagh, Kyle Bay, Monterey, Ramsgate, Ramsgate Beach, Rockdale, Sandringham, Sans Souci, Turrella, Wolli Creek and parts of Bexley, Carlton, Hurstville, Mortdale, Oatley and Penshurst.
Products and Industry Light manufacturing, commercial and retail industry, tourism, oyster farming, medical supplies and health services.

McClelland, R (ALP) 1996-
Punch, G F (ALP) 1983-1996
Bradfield, J M (LP) 1975-1983
Reynolds, L J (ALP) 1969-1975
Arthur, W T (LP) 1966-1969
Reynolds, L J (ALP) 1958-1966
Evatt, H V (ALP) 1940-1958
Lane, A (UAP) 1931-1940
Tully, J T (ALP) 1928-1931
Ley, T J (NAT) 1925-1928
McDonald, F A (ALP) 1922-1925

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top