Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 13/12/2007 12:38:43 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name CHARLTON
State New South Wales
Elected Member Combet, G (ALP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after Matthew Charlton 1866-1948, Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1903-10, Member of House of Representatives 1910-28 and leader of ALP 1922-28.
First Proclaimed / Election 1984
Area 578 sq. kms
Demographic Provincial
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 91,109
Turnout 95.76%
Informal 4.66%
Location Charlton covers an area of approximately 578 sq km from Rankin Park, Cardiff Heights, Cardiff South and Garden Suburb in the east, encompassing all of Lake Maquarie, then extending south to Wyee, including Mandalong and Martinsville to the west and Seahampton, West Wallsend and Maryland in the north. Main suburbs include, Elermore Vale, Fletcher, Minmi and most of Wallsend in the Newcastle area, Boolaroo, Cardiff, Cooranbong, Edgeworth, Morisset, Speers Point, Toronto, Warners Bay, and Wangi Wangi in the Lake Macquarie area.
Products and Industry Light and heavy engineering, timber, textiles, some dairy farms and poultry farming, tourism, coal-mining, electricity, and retailing.

Combet, G (ALP) 2007-
Hoare, K (ALP) 1998-2007
Brown, B (ALP) 1984-1998

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top