Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 12/12/2007 12:08:35 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name HUME
State New South Wales
Elected Member Schultz, A (LP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after Hamilton Hume 1797-1873, an early explorer.
First Proclaimed / Election 1901
Area 26302 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 90,404
Turnout 96.24%
Informal 3.39%
Location Hume covers an area of approximately 26 302 sq km from Crookwell, Tahmoor, Thirlmere and Lake Burragorang in the north to Wee Jasper in the south and from the Southern Highlands in the east to Young in the west. Towns include Bargo, Berrima, Binalong, Boorowa, Bowral, Bundanoon, Fitzroy Falls, Crookwell, Gundaroo, Gunning, Harden/Murrumburrah, Jugiong, Marulan, Mittagong, Moss Vale, Murrumbateman, Robertson, Sutton, Tahmoor, Tarago, Thirlmere, Yass, Young and the City of Goulburn.
Products and Industry Mixed farming, grazing, fat lambs, fruit, vegetables, wine, timber and textiles. The area is noted for its fine wool with Goulburn being the home of the Big Merino. Young is famous as the cherry capital of New South Wales and the Southern Highlands along with other areas in the division generate important tourism.

Schultz, A (LP) 1998-
Sharp, J (NP) 1993-1998
Fife, W C (LP) 1984-1993
Lusher, S A (CP/NCP/NP) 1974-1984
Olley, F (ALP) 1972-1974
Pettitt, J A (CP) 1963-1972
Fuller, A N (ALP) 1961-1963
Anderson, C G W (CP) 1955-1961
Fuller, A N (ALP) 1951-1955
Anderson, C G W (CP) 1949-1951
Fuller, A N (ALP) 1943-1949
Collins, T J (CP) 1931-1943
Moloney, P J (ALP) 1919-1931
Falkiner, F B S (NAT) 1917-1919
Patten, R (LIB) 1913-1917
Lyne, W J (PROT/IND) 1901-1913

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top