Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 13/12/2007 9:59:09 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name KINGSTON
State South Australia
Elected Member Rishworth, A (ALP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after Charles Kingston 1850-1908, Premier of South Australia 1893-99.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 377 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 97,939
Turnout 95.97%
Informal 3.73%
Location Kingston covers an area of approximately 377 sq km from Hallett Cove and O'Halloran Hill in the north to Sellicks Beach in the south. The main suburbs include Aldinga Beach, Christie Downs, Christies Beach, Hackham, Hallett Cove, Happy Valley (part), Huntfield Heights, Lonsdale, McLaren Flat (part), McLaren Vale, Maslin Beach, Moana, Morphett Vale, Old Noarlunga, Onkaparinga Hills, Port Noarlunga, Reynella, Seaford, Sellicks Beach, Sheidow Park, Port Willunga, Trott Park, Willunga and Woodcroft.
Products and Industry Wineries, motor vehicle production, major retailing and various small industries including brickworks, optical lenses, clothing and engineering occupy the northern part of the division.

Rishworth, A (ALP) 2007-
Richardson, K (LP) 2004-2007
Cox, D (ALP) 1998-2004
Jeanes, S (LP) 1996-1998
Bilney, G N (ALP) 1983-1996
Chapman, H G P (LP) 1975-1983
Gun, R (ALP) 1969-1975
Brownbill, K C M (LP) 1966-1969
Galvin, P (ALP) 1951-1966
Handby, H H (LP) 1949-1951

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top