Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 13/12/2007 5:01:55 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name FREMANTLE
State Western Australia
Elected Member Parke, M (ALP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after the city of Fremantle which was named after Captain Charles Fremantle 1800-69 who established the port at the mouth of the Swan River in 1829.
First Proclaimed / Election 1901
Area 200 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 88,984
Turnout 93.78%
Informal 4.25%
Location Fremantle covers an area of approximately 199 sq km from the Swan River in the north to Jandakot Airport in the east and Wattleup in the south. It also includes Rottnest Island. The main suburbs include Atwell, Banjup, Beaconsfield, Beeliar, Bibra Lake, Bicton, Coogee, Coolbellup, East Fremantle, Hamilton Hill, Hilton, Jandakot, North Fremantle, Palmyra, Samson, South Fremantle, South Lake, Spearwood, Success, Wattleup, White Gum Valley, Willagee, Yangebup, and the City of Fremantle.
Products and Industry Small goods factories, ship building, market gardens, brewing, hospitality, tourism and fishing.

Parke, M (ALP) 2007-
Lawrence, C (ALP) 1994-2007
Dawkins, J S (ALP) 1977-1994
Beazley, K E (ALP) 1945-1977
Curtin, J (FLP/ALP) 1934-1945
Watson, W (UAP) 1931-1934
Curtin, J (ALP) 1928-1931
Watson, W (IND) 1922-1928
Burchell, R J (ALP/NAT) 1913-1922
Hedges, W N (WAP/LIB) 1906-1913
Carpenter, W H (ALP) 1903-1906
Solomon, E (FT) 1901-1903

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top