Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 20/12/2007 3:01:52 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name PEARCE
State Western Australia
Elected Member Moylan, J (LP) 1993-
Name Derivation Named after Sir George Pearce 1870-1952, Western Australian Senator 1901-38, Minister for Defence during World War I.
First Proclaimed / Election 1989/1990
Area 26251 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 94,557
Turnout 93.26%
Informal 3.97%
Location The division consists of the eastern region of outer metropolitan Perth and surrounding rural areas. Pearce covers an area of approximately 26 251 sq km and includes the coastal area from Mindarie to Lancelin; the country centres of Gingin, Bindoon and Toodyay in the north, Northam and Grass Valley in the east and York, Beverley, Brookton, Narrogin, Williams and Boddington to the south plus the eastern portion of the Darling Ranges and the Swan Valley. Local government authorities in the division include the Shires of Beverley, Boddington, Brookton, Chittering, Cuballing, Gingin, Narrogin, Northam, Pingelly, Toodyay, Wandering, Williams and York; the Towns of Narrogin and Northam; the majority of Mundaring Shire and the City of Swan; part of the City of Wanneroo and the eastern portion of Kalamunda Shire.
Products and Industry Fishing and tourism on the coast; grain crops, sheep, cattle, and fruit growing in the rural inland areas; restaurants, vineyards and wineries; RAAF pilot training at Pearce Air Base; Agricultural Colleges at Muresk and Narrogin and historic country tourist centres at Beverley, Toodyay and York.

Moylan, J (LP) 1993-
Chaney, F M (LP) 1990-1993

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top