Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 12/12/2007 1:20:46 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name WATSON
State New South Wales
Elected Member Burke, T (ALP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after John Christian Watson 1867-1941, Prime Minister of Australia 27 April-12 August 1904.
First Proclaimed / Election 1992/1993 (Watson became a division in 1992 but was previously known as St George which became a division in 1948.)
Area 37 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 94,785
Turnout 93.19%
Informal 9.05%
Location Watson covers an area of approximately 37 sq km from Belfield and Campsie in the north to Hurstville in the south, Earlwood in the east and Punchbowl in the west. The main suburbs include Bardwell Park, Belmore, Campsie, Clemton Park, Earlwood, Roselands, Wiley Park and parts of Belfield, Beverly Hills, Bexley, Bexley North, Canterbury, Carlton, Hurstville, Kingsgrove, Lakemba, Narwee, Penshurst, Punchbowl and Riverwood.
Products and Industry Light manufacturing and service industries.

Burke, T (ALP) 2004-
McLeay, L (ALP) 1993-2004

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top