Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 21/09/2010 2:13:26 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name COOK
State New South Wales
Elected Member Morrison, S (LP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after Captain James Cook 1728-79, the first European to discover the east coast of Australia in 1770.
First Proclaimed / Election 1906
Area 100 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 100,733
Turnout 94.42%
Informal 5.81%
Location Cook covers an area of approximately 100 sq km from Kurnell and Cronulla in the east to Kirrawee and Bonnet Bay in the west and from Botany Bay and Georges River in the north to that part of the Royal National Park to the east of Farnell Ave, Audley Road and Hacking River in the south. Suburbs include Bonnet Bay, Burraneer, Caringbah, Caringbah South, Como, Cronulla, Dolans Bay, Grays Point, Gymea, Gymea Bay, Kangaroo Point, Kareela, Kirrawee, Kurnell, Lilli Pilli, Miranda, Oyster Bay, Port Hacking, Sylvania, Sylvania Waters, Taren Point, Woolooware, Yowie Bay and parts of Jannali and Sutherland.
Products and Industry Petroleum refineries at Kurnell, steel fabrication, pharmaceutical plant, boat building and oyster farming.

Morrison, S (LP) 2007-
Baird, B (LP) 1998-2007
Mutch, S (LP) 1996-1998
Dobie, J D M (LP) 1975-1996
Thorburn, R W (ALP) 1972-1975
Dobie, J D M (LP) 1969-1972
Cope, J F (ALP) 1955-1969
Sheehan, T (ALP) 1937-1955
Garden, J S (ALP) 1934-1937
Riley, E C (ALP) 1922-1934
Catts, J H (ALP) 1906-1922

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top