Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 13/09/2010 4:21:08 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name COWPER
State New South Wales
Elected Member Hartsuyker, L (NP) 2001-
Name Derivation Named after Sir Charles Cowper 1807-75, Premier of New South Wales 25 August-2 October 1856.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 7861 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 94,654
Turnout 94.05%
Informal 4.33%
Location Cowper covers an area of approximately 7,861 sq km from Kempsey in the south to Maclean in the north. The main towns include Bellingen, Bowraville, Coffs Harbour, Dorrigo, Kempsey, Maclean, Macksville, Nambucca Heads, Sawtell, South West Rocks, Urunga and Woolgoolga.
Products and Industry Fishing, forestry, agriculture, bananas, dairy cattle and tourism.

Hartsuyker, L (NP) 2001-
Nehl, G (NP) 1984-2001
Robinson, I L (CP/NCP) 1963-1984
McGuren, F W (ALP) 1961-1963
Page, E C G (FSU/CP) 1919-1961
Thomson, J (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1906-1919
Lee, H W (FT) 1903-1906
Clarke, F (PROT) 1901-1903

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top