Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 15/09/2010 9:46:05 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name HUGHES
State New South Wales
Elected Member Kelly, C (LP) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after William Hughes 1862-1952, Prime Minister of Australia 1915-1923
First Proclaimed / Election 1955
Area 178 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 97,998
Turnout 94.21%
Informal 6.52%
Location Hughes covers an area of approximately 178 sq km with the Georges River, Hume Hwy and Terminus street forming the western boundary. The Cabramatta Creek, Georges River, Milperra Road, Queen Street and Uranus Road make up the boundary to the north. The Illawarra Railway line and Woronora River form the eastern boundary. Hughes encompasses the local government areas of Bankstown, Liverpool and Sutherland with Liverpool and Sutherland LGAs providing the boundary to the south. The main suburbs include Alfords Point, Bangor, Barden Ridge, Chipping Norton, East Hills, Engadine, Hammondville, Holsworthy, Illawong, Loftus, Lucas Heights, Menai, Milperra, Moorebank, Panania, Picnic Point, Revesby, Warwick Farm, Wattle Grove, Woronora and parts of Jannali, Liverpool and Sutherland.
Products and Industry Atomic reactor, light manufacturing industries, army base at Holsworthy.

Kelly, C (LP) 2010-
Vale, D (LP) 1996-2010
Tickner, R E (ALP) 1984-1996
Johnson, L R (ALP) 1969-1983
Dobie, J D (LP) 1966-1969
Johnson, L R (ALP) 1955-1966

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top