Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 10/09/2010 2:57:15 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name HUME
State New South Wales
Elected Member Schultz, A (LP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after Hamilton Hume 1797-1873, an early explorer.
First Proclaimed / Election 1901
Area 33637 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 97,719
Turnout 94.95%
Informal 5.13%
Location Hume covers an area of approximately 33,637 sq km from Cowra in the north to Wee Jasper in the south and parts of the Southern Highlands from Picton and Wilton in the east to Young and Cootamundra in the west. It includes the entire local Government areas of Boorowa, Cootamundra, Cowra, Goulburn Mulwaree, Harden, Upper Lachlan, Weddin, Yass Valley and Young Councils and parts of Palerang, Wingecarribee and Wollondilly Shires. Towns include Bargo, Binalong, Boorowa, Bundanoon, Buxton, Caragabal, Colo Vale, Cootamundra, Cowra, Crookwell, Gooloogong, Grenfell, Gundaroo, Gunning, Harden/Murrumburrah, High Range, Hill Top, Joadja, Jugiong, Marulan, Murrumbateman, Oakdale, Picton, Quandialla, Stockinbingal, Sutton, Tahmoor, Tarago, The Oaks, Thirlmere, Wallendbeen, Wilton, Yass, Young and the City of Goulburn.
Products and Industry Mixed farming, grazing, fat lambs, fruit, vegetables, wine, timber and textiles. The area is noted for its fine wool with Goulburn being the home of the Big Merino. Young is famous as the cherry capital of New South Wales and Cootamundra is the birth place of Sir Donald Bradman.

Schultz, A (LP) 1998-
Sharp, J (NP) 1993-1998
Fife, W C (LP) 1984-1993
Lusher, S A (CP/NCP/NP) 1974-1984
Olley, F (ALP) 1972-1974
Pettitt, J A (CP) 1963-1972
Fuller, A N (ALP) 1961-1963
Anderson, C G W (CP) 1955-1961
Fuller, A N (ALP) 1951-1955
Anderson, C G W (CP) 1949-1951
Fuller, A N (ALP) 1943-1949
Collins, T J (CP) 1931-1943
Moloney, P J (ALP) 1919-1931
Falkiner, F B S (NAT) 1917-1919
Patten, R (LIB) 1913-1917
Lyne, W J (PROT/IND) 1901-1913

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top