Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 10/09/2010 2:35:17 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name HUNTER
State New South Wales
Elected Member Fitzgibbon, J (ALP) 1996-
Name Derivation Named after John Hunter 1737-1821, second Governor of New South Wales 1795-99.
First Proclaimed / Election 1901
Area 20111 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 91,523
Turnout 94.73%
Informal 6.21%
Location Hunter covers an area of approximately 20,111 sq km from Maitland in the east to Cassilis in the west, Murrurundi in the north and south to Wollombi. The main towns include Aberdeen, Branxton, Cessnock, Denman, Kandos, Kurri Kurri, Maitland, Merriwa, Murrurundi, Muswellbrook, Scone and Singleton.
Products and Industry Agriculture, aluminium smelting, coal-mining, dairy farming, engineering, farming, forestry, fruit and vegetables, horse studs and racing, timber milling, tourism, wine grapes, wineries and wool. Liddell Power Station and Bays Water Power Station are also in the division.

Fitzgibbon, J (ALP) 1996-
Fitzgibbon, E J (ALP) 1984-1996
Brown, R J (ALP) 1980-1984
James, A W (ALP) 1960-1980
Evatt, H V (ALP) 1958-1960
James, R (ALP) 1928-1958
Charlton, M (ALP) 1910-1928
Liddell, F (FT/ANTI-SOC) 1903-1910
Barton, E (PROT) 1901-1903

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top