Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 21/09/2010 9:18:02 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name MACARTHUR
State New South Wales
Elected Member Matheson, R (LP) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after Elizabeth Macarthur 1766-1850 and Captain John Macarthur 1767-1834, early settlers in New South Wales and founders of the Australian merino wool industry.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 798 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 90,040
Turnout 94.52%
Informal 8.11%
Location Macarthur covers an area of approximately 798 sq km stretching from Warragamba and Lake Burragorang in the west to Appin, Wedderburn, Airds, Ruse and Kentlyn in the east. The northern boundary extends east from Lake Burragorang along Werriberri Creek, Eltons Road, Taylors Road, Nepean River, Bringelly Creek, Greendale Road and Bringelly Road to the intersection with Allenby Road. In the south from Eltons Rd following the Nepean River to Ellis Lane, Sickles Creek and Fosters Lane, Westbrook Road, Cawdor Road, past Mt Hercules Road and into Remembrance Drive, Donalds Range Road to the Nepean and Cataract Rivers, Lake Cataract being the most southern point. Main towns and suburbs include Ambarvale, Appin, Bradbury, Camden, Cawdor, Campbelltown, Glen Alpine, Harrington Park, Mount Annan, Narellan, Rossmore, St Helens Park, and parts of Bringelly, Catherine Field, Douglas Park, Leumeah, Razorback and Rossmore.
Products and Industry The area contains residential, commercial, small business and light industrial activities. The area also produces fruit, vegetables, fodder crops, wine and is a centre for horse-breeding, agistment and tourism. The historic Belgenny Farm, former home of John & Elizabeth Macarthur, the Macarthur Campus of the University of Western Sydney, the University of Sydney farms and the Mount Annan Botanic Gardens are also located within the Macarthur electorate.

Matheson, R (LP) 2010-
Farmer, P (LP) 2001-2010
Fahey, J (LP) 1996-2001
Haviland, C D (ALP) 1993-1996
Martin, S P (ALP) 1984-1993
Hollis, C (ALP) 1983-1984
Baume, M E (LP) 1975-1983
Kerin, J C (ALP) 1972-1975
Bate, H J (LP) 1949-1972

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top