Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 15/09/2010 11:38:38 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name PARRAMATTA
State New South Wales
Elected Member Owens, J (ALP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after the locality of Parramatta which was first settled in 1788. The name is Aboriginal for 'plenty of eels' or 'head of river'.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 56 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 93,999
Turnout 91.21%
Informal 8.65%
Location Parramatta covers an area of approximately 56 sq km from Carlingford and Dundas in the east to Old Toongabbie and South Wentworthville in the west. The main suburbs include Constitution Hill, Dundas Valley, Granville, Harris Park, Holroyd, Mays Hill, North Parramatta, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Telopea, Wentworthville, Westmead and parts of Dundas, Ermington, Guildford, Merrylands, Merrylands West, Northmead, North Rocks, Pendle Hill, South Granville and South Wentworthville.
Products and Industry Retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, major industry and tourism.

Owens, J (ALP) 2004-
Cameron, R (LP) 1996-2004
Elliott, R P (ALP) 1990-1996
Brown, J J (ALP) 1977-1990
Ruddock, P M (LP) 1973-1977
Bowen, N H (LP) 1964-1973
Barwick, G E (LP) 1958-1964
Beale, O H (LP) 1946-1958
Stewart, F H (UAP) 1931-1946
Rowe, A E (ALP) 1929-1931
Bowden, E K (NAT) 1922-1929
Pratten, H E (NAT) 1921-1922
Cook, J (FT/ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1901-1921

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top