Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 28/09/2010 12:28:03 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name LEICHHARDT
State Queensland
Elected Member Entsch, W (LNQ) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after Friedrich Leichhardt 1813-48, explorer and scientist.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 148988 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 93,113
Turnout 91.10%
Informal 5.91%
Location Leichhardt covers an area of approximately 148,988 sq km from the Torres Strait Islands in the north to Bentley Park in the south. The main towns include Aurukun, Bamaga, Cairns (part), Cooktown, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Kuranda, Lockhart River, Mossman, Pormpuraaw, Port Douglas, Thursday Island and Weipa.
Products and Industry Sugar, tropical fruit, aquaculture, cattle, fishing, mining and tourism.

Entsch, W (LNQ) 2010-
Turnour, J (ALP) 2007-2010
Entsch, W (LP) 1996-2007
Dodd, P G (ALP) 1993-1996
Gayler, J (ALP) 1983-1993
Thomson, D S (NCP/NP) 1975-1983
Fulton, W J (ALP) 1958-1975
Bruce, H A (ALP) 1951-1958
Gilmore, T V (CP) 1949-1951

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top