Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/09/2010 12:10:49 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name MORETON
State Queensland
Elected Member Perrett, G (ALP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after the area in which it is located. Captain Cook named Moreton Bay in 1770 after the Earl of Morton, which was misspelt to become Moreton.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 111 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 92,730
Turnout 91.87%
Informal 4.85%
Location Moreton covers an area of approximately 111 sq km from Fairfield in the north, Chelmer, Corinda and Oxley in the west, Eight Mile Plains and Kuraby in the east to Sunnybank Hills in the South. The main suburbs include Acacia Ridge, Archerfield, Chelmer, Coopers Plains, Corinda, Fairfield, Graceville, Kuraby, Macgregor, Moorooka, Nathan, Oxley, Robertson, Rocklea, Runcorn, Salisbury, Sherwood, Sunnybank, Sunnybank Hills, Tennyson, Willawong, Yeerongpilly and Yeronga and parts of Algester, Annerley, Eight Mile Plains and Tarragindi.
Products and Industry The area is mainly residential with some light industrial and commercial activities. A light aircraft airport is in Archerfield.

Perrett, G (ALP) 2007-
Hardgrave, G (LP) 1996-2007
Gibson, G D (ALP) 1990-1996
Cameron, D M (LP) 1983-1990
Killen, D J (LP) 1955-1983
Francis, J (NAT/UAP/LP) 1922-1955
Wienholt, A (NAT/CP) 1919-1922
Sinclair, H (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906-1919
Wilkinson, J (IND LAB/ALP) 1901-1906

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top