Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/09/2010 1:26:45 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name RYAN
State Queensland
Elected Member Prentice, J (LNQ) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after Thomas Ryan 1876-1921, Premier of Queensland 1915-19.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 441 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 98,239
Turnout 93.31%
Informal 2.87%
Location Ryan covers an area of approximately 441 sq km mainly on the western side of the City of Brisbane. The division is located north of the Brisbane River from Auchenflower in the east to Kholo in the west and north to Keperra and Ferny Grove and the boundary of the City of Brisbane in the north and west. The main suburbs and localities include Bellbowrie, Brookfield, Chapel Hill, Enoggera, Indooroopilly, Karana Downs, Kenmore, Keperra, Mitchelton, St Lucia, Taringa, The Gap, Toowong, Upper Kedron and parts of Ashgrove, Auchenflower, Bardon, Paddington and Lake Manchester.
Products and Industry The area is mainly residential and acreage suburbs with some commercial and retail activities. The University of Queensland is located on the Brisbane River at St Lucia, while all of Brisbane's television transmitters are on Mount Coot-tha. The suburb of Sumner is partially devoted to light industry. By way of contrast, some farming still occurs in the outlying suburbs and the division also includes a large portion of Brisbane Forest Park.

Prentice, J (LNQ) 2010-
Johnson, M (LP) 2001-2010
Short, L (ALP) 2001-2001
Moore, J (LP) 1975-2001
Drury, E N (LP) 1949-1975

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top