Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 6/09/2010 3:06:33 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name BASS
State Tasmania
Elected Member Lyons, G (ALP) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after Dr George Bass (1771-1803), a naval surgeon, early settler and explorer. Bass Strait is also named after him.
First Proclaimed / Election 1903
Area 7379 sq. kms
Demographic Provincial
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 71,686
Turnout 95.16%
Informal 3.98%
Location Bass covers an area of approximately 7 378 sq km from Launceston in the south to Flinders Island in the north. The City of Launceston and its suburbs, and the towns of Bell Bay, Bridport, George Town, Hadspen, Lilydale, Legana (part), Ringarooma and Scottsdale, as well as Cape Barren Island, Clarke Island & Flinders Island are in this division.
Products and Industry Aluminium and ferrous metal smelting, brewery, cattle (dairy and beef) farming, manufacturing, mining, ports and shipping, ship building, timber, tourism, fishing, wineries and wool.

Lyons, G (ALP) 2010-
Campbell, J (ALP) 2007-2010
Ferguson, M (LP) 2004-2007
O'Byrne, M (ALP) 1998-2004
Smith, W L (LP) 1996-1998
Smith, S J (ALP) 1993-1996
Smith, W L (LP) 1984-1993
Newman, K E (LP) 1975-1984
Barnard, L H (ALP) 1954-1975
Kekwick, B H (LP) 1949-1954
Barnard, H C (ALP) 1934-1949
Guy, J A (ALP/UAP) 1929-1934
Jackson, D S (NAT) 1919-1929
Jensen, J A (ALP) 1910-1919
Storrer, D (PROT) 1903-1910

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top