Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 7/09/2010 3:47:11 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name FRANKLIN
State Tasmania
Elected Member Collins, J (ALP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after Sir John Franklin 1786-1847, Lieutenant-Governor of Tasmania 1837-43.
First Proclaimed / Election 1903
Area 6514 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 71,122
Turnout 95.46%
Informal 3.48%
Location Franklin covers an area of approximately 6 514 sq km from Old Beach in the north to Port Davey in the south and Seven Mile Beach in the east. The City of Clarence is in the division. Other major towns include Blackmans Bay, Cygnet, Dover, Franklin, Geeveston, Huonville, Kingston (part), Margate, Old Beach, Richmond and Snug, as well as Bruny Island.
Products and Industry Apples, pears, small fruits, aquaculture, fishing, beef cattle, sheep, forestry, cottage industry, vineyards and tourism.

Collins, J (ALP) 2007-
Quick, H (ALP) 1993-2007
Goodluck, B J (LP) 1975-1993
Sherry, R H (ALP) 1969-1975
Pearsall, T G (LP) 1966-1969
Falkinder, C W J (LP) 1946-1966
Frost, C W (FLP/ALP) 1934-1946
Blacklow, A C (UAP) 1931-1934
Frost, C W (ALP) 1929-1931
McWilliams, W J (IND) 1928-1929
Seabrook, A C (NAT) 1922-1928
McWilliams, W J (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT/CP) 1903-1922

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top